Celtic Woman Fan Site Forum Index

Time In Ireland Is
Some Background Information On Meav Ni Mhaolchatha

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Celtic Woman Fan Site Forum Index -> Méav Ni Mhaolchatha
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Don
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:57 am    Post subject: Some Background Information On Meav Ni Mhaolchatha Reply with quote

Méav never imagined that music could take her this far. “Ireland has changed a lot in the few years since I graduated from university” she says. “There was no sign of the Celtic Tiger and I presumed that music for me would simply be a passionate hobby”.

Instead she has surpassed all of her dreams. Méav has toured the world as sole vocalist with the RTE Concert Orchestra, as a principal soloist with the Celtic Choral group Anuna, as Erin the Goddess in Lord of the Dance, in the London and Dublin productions of Riverdance and as a soloist with the Irish National Chamber Choir. She has headlined a festival as part of the Korean World Cup celebrations, performed at a prestigious Celtic Festival in Tokyo and sang in the Beo Festival of Irish Music at the National Concert Hall in Dublin. She has also recorded two solo albums which have been very successful worldwide and particularly in the USA, Japan and South Korea. In the last twelve months, Meav has also received two gold discs as one of the five featured soloists in ‘Celtic Woman’, who's highly successful DVD and CD released by EMI topped the World Music Charts for over a year. Meav’s solo compilation album Celtic Journey also debuted in the Billboard World Music top ten on its release in February.