Celtic Woman Fan Site Forum Index

Time In Ireland Is
Newest Celtic Woman Relishes The Chance To Be Herself

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Celtic Woman Fan Site Forum Index -> Lisa Lambe
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Don
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:27 pm    Post subject: Newest Celtic Woman Relishes The Chance To Be Herself Reply with quote

(From the left) Máiréad Nesbitt, Lisa Lambe, Lisa Kelly and Chloë Agnew
Lisa Lambe says performing with Celtic Woman is allowing her to be herself.

"It is just so nice to be onstage singing as Lisa instead of being a character," says Lambe, whose musical history is in doing roles in plays such as "Sweeney Todd."

Not this year, though. Lambe is the newest member of Celtic Woman, which makes its annual visit to Pittsburgh on Friday at the Consol Energy Center, Uptown.

"It is a fabulous time," she says. "My background is in drama, but I love singing. It suits me very well."

She is the newest member of the group that changes a little in size and personnel almost year to year, but consistently puts on a spectacular show with backup singers and a small orchestra filled with pipes and Irish percussion.

It is a concert, to be sure, but also a show built around sometimes-moody stage settings and dramatic musical presentations conceived by music director and keyboardist David Downes. It is a show that has drawn enthusiastic crowds in Pittsburgh from its first visit in 2005 at the Byham Theater, Downtown, to stops at the Benedum Center and the now-closed Mellon Arena.

The tour started with 16 cities; this year it will visit 65, doing more than one show in several.

Worldwide, Celtic Woman has sold more than 6 million CDs and performed to more than 2 million people.

"The beauty of the show is we have four ladies doing songs that sometimes are the same and sometimes are different," Lambe says. She believes it draws many repeat viewers because "it's the same show but ever-changing."